ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Medications for Co-Existing Conditions
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 12-02-17, 05:26 PM

JakeH99 is on a distinguished road
OCD and ADHD?

I've had a lot of experience with psychotropic (psych) meds. I've been on over 26 of them. Almost every SSRI in existence I've tried, tried Effexor 6 different times, Pristiq once, and many ADHD options from Straterra, Ritalin, Concerta, Adderall Tabs, Vyvanse, Dexedrine tabs. I have also tried a couple benzos klonopin, ativan. I have taken Vistaril/Hydroxyzine Paomate Caps for over 2 years now. I have additionally tried Gabapentin, Buspar, Prazosin, HCTZ, and probably other meds I'm forgetting. Abilify, Seroquel, And Risperidone I've also tried. Insanely bad luck with these meds here. Treating ADHD and OCD has been a complete nightmare. 5 years of medicine combos, countless varying side effects, and way too much frustration (more than I can really ever convey by words). I am currently just treating the ADHD and pretty much using more "as needed" approaches for OCD. The ADHD is a lot more bothersome, but the OCD is definitely a big issue for me as well. I have sort of learned the times and ways my OCD is worsened or getting bad, so I am using the as needed meds to try to avoid SSRI/SNRI since I've had attrocious luck with those. The anti-psychotics I gained 40 pounds or more on and had VERY HIGH PROLACTIN which was some of the worst times of my life. I pretty much have given up on treating the OCD with the ADHD with the amphetamine/SSRI(SNRI), or Methylphenidate/SSRI(SNRI) combo thing. It doesn't work for me and leaves me exhausted at the end of the day with weight gain and sex dysfunction. I have sleep apnea and low Testeste