ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > General Medication Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

General Medication Discussion This section is to be used for general medication discussion and other medications not broken out in their own respective forums.

Old 11-03-08, 01:41 AM
Contributor

ecu20 is just really niceecu20 is just really niceecu20 is just really niceecu20 is just really nice
ADD/ADHD FAQ: Want to know what stimulants are, and how do they work? Read this!

What are stimulants and how do they work?
**First off, I am not a doctor, so do not take this as medical advise! This informational attempts to go somewhat in depth with this subject of stimulants and how they work, but keeps some of the specific "complicated" details out of it. Let me know if I missed anything. It helps to be able to point people here if they have questions about stimulant medication.**

In order to understand stimulants, we first must understand what things they effect in our brain, namely neurotransmitters.

Neurotransmitters

Neurotransmitters are monoamines, which are chemicals in our brain that modulate(adjust) signals between cells and neurons. The space in between neurons and cells is called the synaptic cleft, and the levels of neurotransmitters in the synaptic cleft affect many effects and feelings. Remember this top part, because this is important.