ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adults with ADD > General ADD Talk
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 04-08-13, 11:02 PM

amma1589 is on a distinguished road
Red face Newbie - Trying to figure this all out!

Hi all,

I apologize if this is posted in the wrong place. I am new to this whole thing (literally). I am 23 years old, diagnosed with ADHD in January of this year. I never payed much attention in school but always got good grades so it was never a concern. As I went to college and now graduate school, the work became increasingly difficult for me to complete and I was at risk of failing out. I also have the other adult symptoms: mood swings, inability to form relations, etc. Anyway, so I was evaluated by a psychiatrist over a few weeks and he came to that conclusion.

I started on Vyvanse 30mg and it was amazing for the first month (and is still pretty good). My anxiety went away, I was getting praised at work for how well I was doing, my work was on time, etc. The dose was increased to 50, which I found myself very irritable. It was decreased to 40 and I am now down to 30 again. Feeling okay, besides the occasional jaw tightness and the irritability, I have no issue with the medication - lots of attention, sleeping well, not even a significant amount of weight loss. I am a bit more hyper and sometimes will say something quickly without thinking. I am also a bit more argumentative when in debates, but I do not know if that is directly related to the medication or perhaps that my extreme anxiety has decreased and I am more comfortable speaking up.