ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Diagnosis & Treatment
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Diagnosis & Treatment This forum is for the discussion of issues related to the diagnosis of AD/HD

Old 07-06-11, 10:45 AM
ADDvanced Member

thegreenjudy has a spectacular aura aboutthegreenjudy has a spectacular aura about
ADD medication alternatives with existing depression

I am quite new to this and I was wondering if there is any medication that DOESN'T have increased risk of depression as a side-effect. I took Ritalin for 3 month and ended up being suicidal. But I was already diagnosed with depression so it's not surprising that it increased my depression.

All the products I found are stimulants that are very likely to worsen my depression and restlessness (ironic, really...) - I probably have add without the h but I feel very restless and anxious inside and can't relax at all.

What type of medication is out there that doesn't cause these side-effects and actually WORKS?
Old 07-07-11, 04:23 AM
ADDvanced Member

thegreenjudy has a spectacular aura aboutthegreenjudy has a spectacular aura about
Re: ADD medication alternatives with existing depression

Oh my goodness I just made and amazing discovery!!

I am not a big coffee drinker - BUt every now and then I have one cup. I never really noticed it until yesterday! Coffee calms me down great time and helps me to focus and get on with stuff! So I googled it and found more threads from people who discovered the same. And when I just googled "why does coffee calm me down?" (without adding ADHD) I mostly found sites or comments from people who have ADHD.

I think this should deserve proper research!!