ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Careers/Job Impact
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Careers/Job Impact This forum is for adults to discuss how AD/HD affects work and career.

Old 06-02-12, 04:27 PM

LillyF is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Any military (or prior) ADHDers out there?

First of all, I'm new so nice to meet you . I have been struggling with ADHD-PI/SCT for my entire life. I wasn't diagnosed until I joined the Air Force. At my first duty station, I went to see a shrink because I was depressed. Within a few sessions, he realized that I was the poster child of SCT. I work as an administrative medical technician. 90% of my job is paperwork. I constantly make typos on important powerpoints for meetings and lose papers. I struggle to stay awake during boring meetings, which are frequent. My supervision think I'm lazy even though I have explained to them 1,000 times how hard I am trying. I am so stressed out. They are aware of my diagnosis, but they don't care at all. Are there any military or prior military ADHDers out there that can relate to me? Do you have any advice?
The Following User Says Thank You to LillyF For This Useful Post:
TheChemicals (06-05-12)
Old 06-02-12, 07:02 PM
ADDvanced Forum ADDvocate

Thanked 6,260 Times in 2,929 Posts
Drewbacca has a reputation beyond reputeDrewbacca has a reputation beyond reputeDrewbacca has a reputation beyond reputeDrewbacca has a reputation beyond reputeDrewbacca has a reputation beyond reputeDrewbacca has a reputation beyond reputeDrewbacca has a reputation beyond reputeDrewbacca has a reputation beyond reputeDrewbacca has a reputation beyond reputeDrewbacca has a reputation beyond reputeDrewbacca has a reputation beyond repute