ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Careers/Job Impact
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Careers/Job Impact This forum is for adults to discuss how AD/HD affects work and career.

Old 06-02-12, 07:13 PM

harley1 is on a distinguished road
Post Job Offer -Medical Questionaire (Need advice)

First off, I am a health care professional and just got job offer for a new place of employment.

As far as medical history, I not only have ADHD (which is managed with Ritalin), but I have depression, high blood pressure, and a history of substance abuse/alcoholism (3 years of recovery so far).

I just took a drug urine test and there was no option by the testing facility to notify them that I am on doctor prescribed Ritalin. I am hoping that the urine will come back negative for what they are testing.

The part of this whole process that concerns me is the medical questionnaire that gave me to answer. One of the things the form asks is if "I have nervous or psychiatric disorders (e.g. severe depression)" Does treated depression and ADHD fall into this category? Also, is it a good idea to disclose my history of depression or ADHD? These illnesses are managed and I don't need any accomidations from the employer.

Any help/advice would be appreciated!
Old 06-03-12, 12:57 AM
Super Meowaderator

Thanked 15,436 Times in 6,133 Posts