ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adults with ADD > General ADD Talk
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 07-03-05, 08:08 PM

FourTrackMind is on a distinguished road
Question for all the musicians here.

I started playing guitar at age 18. i just turned 23 and to be honest... i'm still a pretty bad guitarplayer. I could've learned more in 5 years (i'm sure this is every musicians frustration, but seriously...)

Anyway, i have serious issues trying to keep my focus while learning new things to play. Luckily i have had a teacher for the past 10 months that has putting me up to the test, and i have been passing.. although it hasn't been with flying colors, like i would like to. Now that his lessons are starting to get more student specific, and we have gotten rid of the books.. i've noticed a loss of goal. Ofcourse, i can say; i'm gonna teach myself this song this week, but learning 1 is just.. boring to me. Ofcourse, learning guitar is more than playing songs over and over, but i'd love to get in at least ONE solid hour of practice a day, and not just 10 to 15 minutes here and there spread over the course of all my time spent at home, when i feel the need to play.

So.. any guitar players or other musicians that can help me out here with some tips for making learning more interesting and effective?

Ps. i have noticed that i play longer when i really get entertained with my own playing.. i'm sure that after a while of making steady progress, my playing should be interesting enough to keep interest in getting better.
Old 07-03-05, 08:36 PM
ADDvanced Forum ADDvocate

crime_scene has disabled reputation
I took up clarinet after a 20 year absence post highschool, but I know I'm not a great practicer of practicing..