ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Careers/Job Impact
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Careers/Job Impact This forum is for adults to discuss how AD/HD affects work and career.

Old 06-13-15, 10:55 AM

TalwinNX is on a distinguished road
Recently Fired From Job, Unsure of What To Do Next

Forewarning: This will be a long post

TL;DR Got fired, hated the job anyway, have many ideas of what to do but unsure of which to pursue.

I'm a pharmacist, recently diagnosed with ADHD-PI. I've been working the same job for about 5.5 years. I absolutely despised the job, mostly because of the management, but I also find being a pharmacist to be dull, repetitive, and mind numbing. Also, all the rules and regulations clash with my ADHD Anyway, I got fired about two weeks ago as my attitude has severely declined in the last year or so and I could no longer fake my happiness at work.

I became a pharmacist because I grew up in poverty in a single parent household where money was the primary motive for anything. I never wanted to live in poverty like my family and I wanted a steady, secure job.

I'm trying to look at the firing in positive aspect, I feel like I have many options open to me at this point and I really have a chance to go in a different direction in my life, one that will make me happy.