ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADDForums FRONT OFFICE > Forums Help, Q&A
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 05-22-03, 09:09 PM
Contributor

vinceptor is on a distinguished road
Question Y2039?

I am fairly new to this site but I have already noticed that (1) while my profile lists my DOB as 9/11/51, (2) when I click on MEMBERS and select my own handle, it shows a DOB of 12/31/69.

As a UNIX admin, I suspect that the innards of this website is run off a UNIX/Linux server, and that this accounts for the date misrepresentation.

All "UNIX" systems clock time in seconds from 1970, and so the faulty DOB really = 0 (or -1?), or "Does not compute" or "This guy is older than UNIX! What a geezer!".

BTW, in 2039 (I believe), the UNIX world might end up having its own little version of the Y2K festivities due to this peculiarity. Start holding your breath now!

E-mail--one of the 10 warning signs of AD/HD
Old 05-22-03, 09:38 PM
Favorite "Aunt Joan" to Little Jessica

joanrdtobe will become famous soon enough
Well, it looks like Forums is giving you a choice of birthdates...you either get September 11 OR New Years Eve.....interesting choice, huh? Listen V. Inceptor -- you sound VERY bright...would you like I should hire you to build me a computer!! I'll bet you would do a great job....

"If you change the way you look at things -- the things you look at change"

Dr. Wayne Dyer (The Power of Intention)
Old 05-23-03, 03:48 PM
Ghost in the Machine

Thanked 2,056 Times in 578 Posts