ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adults with ADD > Women with ADD/ADHD
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Women with ADD/ADHD This forum is for women to discuss issues related to being a woman with AD/HD.

Old 05-24-11, 02:34 PM

chaoticmemory is on a distinguished road
Just moved, waiting to see new doc....predicament!!

Hi everybody, this is my first post on the forum so I'll post a little introduction. I am a 22-year-old nurse. I am married and recently graduated from nursing school. I was diagnosed with ADHD a little over a year and a half ago, tried medication for a brief period of time (let's just leave it at strattera does NOT work for me), then went off it due to side effects and lack of improvement. Then a few months ago, during my last semester of nursing school, things got out of control to a whole new level. So I went back and decided to give medication another shot.

Four months later, taking Adderall XR 30 mg in the morning and 20 mg at noon, life is much more manageable.

Unfortunately for me my husband and I have moved to a new state in the past month (after graduation) and my old doctor is 7 hours away. I have medication to last me through June 1, but I was unable to get an appointment with any psychiatrist in the area until June 11.

If I didn't have anything going on in my life right now a medication gap would be tough but doable. However that is NOT the case. I start orientation for a new job (and my first professional one) next Tuesday. I can't take a break from my meds to prepare for that because I have a lot I have to accomplish this week as well. So basically I'm stuck.