ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Education
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Education This forum is to discuss issues related to ADD and higher education.

Old 07-23-11, 01:59 PM

aystro will become famous soon enough
Poor reading skills: you are supposed to picture what you read?

Hi there, I wonder what kind of problems ADD people encounter when they are just unable to grasp reading material, especially something uninteresting. Since I can remember, I never was able to read properly. I thought that reading consisted of me pronouncing the words in a good speed and that was it. If you 'read' fast like I did, I was a pro basically. That was until I was 11 and people actually questioned me about what I read specifically and that's where the 'letter dementia' -feeling was exposed.
So to sum up when I read uninteresting material I only see the words but the meaning never gets to my brain. I dont picture anything like normal people are supposed to. I observed my self when I read something interesting. When I do that I get the main idea, what the story is about but never the little things. So it's a paradox either way.

Anybody else?
The Following User Says Thank You to aystro For This Useful Post:
namazu (07-23-11)
Old 07-23-11, 04:55 PM
ADDvanced Forum Guru

Thanked 1,034 Times in 461 Posts
Etcetera has much to be proud ofEtcetera has much to be proud ofEtcetera has much to be proud ofEtcetera has much to be proud ofEtcetera has much to be proud ofEtcetera has much to be proud ofEtcetera has much to be proud ofEtcetera has much to be proud of
Re: Poor reading skills: you are supposed to picture what you read?