ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Education
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Education This forum is to discuss issues related to ADD and higher education.

Old 10-13-04, 01:42 PM
Jr Member

Suq'Ata is on a distinguished road
Post ADD college student questioning purpose, and life in general

I want to start with a quick bio, and backround info, its a little booring so please stick with me =).

So, I'm 24 now, I graduated from high school in '98 and jumped straight into a University. I had never been exposed to such freedom, and coupled with that i really didnt have any direction in college, it just seemed like the next step. So I think you all know where this is going, yes, i nearly failed out. I spent the next few years of my life working full time as a waiter and taking a few classes here and there at a community college. One day last year i came to the realization i was no longer content just being a waiter. Don't get me wrong, these years were and incredible experience and i have learned more waiting tables than you can imagine, but thats a different story. I decided i wanted to change the world, my friends around me were growing up and doing awesome things and I wanted to get out and do awesome things too. So over the summer i reapplied to the university and was accepted!!! I changed my major away from what i thought was a successful career to my one true gift in the scholastic area, English. The main concern however was that i am ADD, i cant sit down to study a book for anything, so i sought out a medication to help me focus. My doctor suggested Adderall, he explained how it works to me, and it seemed like a great idea. So i began school again with all the excitement of a little boy on Halloween. I to