ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Vyvanse
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Vyvanse (lisdexamfetamine dimesylate)

Old 04-09-12, 05:00 PM
Jr Member

Lane277 is on a distinguished road
Vyvanse isn't working. Suggestions?

I would like to first start off by saying I'm a 36 year old male. All through school and college, I was an A student, but my memory has always been terrible.

My ability to focus and stay on track didn't get really bad until 5 years ago. I found that reading was impossible and my memory worsened.

I finally did something about it a few weeks ago and visited the ADHD treatment center we have here. The doctor started me out on 20 mg of Vyvanse and the first day of taking it, I was absolutely relieved. I found that I was able to focus like I had never been able to before and my memory was incredible. I found that I didn't have to write down anything like I had previously. In my line of work which is in the IT field, having a good memory is essential. The effects lasted for about 4 to 5 hours.

The next week, nothing. My ADHD symptoms were back in full force. I couldn't focus, my memory was back to being terrible and I couldn't stay on task. The next doctor's appointment, he raised my dosage to 30 mg.

Now when I say this dosage put me in an extremely bad mood all the time, that's actually an understatement. It was horrible.

This week, I'm taking 40 mg with no effects. Focus is still bad, memory is still terrible and I can't stay on track.

The doctor told me that Vyvanse might not be the medication for me and that we might have to move to the Ritalin side of the family.