ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Strattera
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Strattera (Atomoxetine HCI)

Old 11-05-04, 12:33 PM

TXRebelGrrrl is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Strattera side effects and next steps...seeing doc today

I'm new here but very glad I found this board. I've been on Strattera for about 2 and a half months now but just had my dose raised from 40 mg to 80 mg 2 weeks ago. Before it was raised, it did nothing but make me not able to sleep. My doc recommended Valerian Root (herb) to help me sleep and it's worked like a charm. Obviously he raised the dose because nothing was happening. Since I've been on 80 mg I've had a whole world of bothersome and some scary side effects. I'm studying to be a personal trainer so I work out every single day and this is my passion. Now when I exercise (even for 10 minutes) I feel like my heart is going to pound out of my chest. I can't breathe and it takes forever to catch my breath and for my pulse to slow back down. This is not normal AT ALL. I swim 60 some laps a day (or did before this). Now I can't work out at all. My blood pressure has been higher than it's ever been (still not high but certainly high for me). I have a headache every afternoon. I feel like throwing up every day shortly after taking the stuff even if I eat with it. I'm tired in the afternoons every single day but can't sleep and don't want to. I'm getting nothing done and have noticed no improvements in my focus. I've had horrible experiences in the past with antidepressants (SSRIs) and this isn't turning out any better. I know now that depression is not my problem but I'm wondering what the next step will be since I don't think I can tolerate these side effects. Has an