ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > PARENTS OF CHILDREN WITH ADD/ADHD > General Parenting Issues
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

General Parenting Issues The purpose of this forum is to discuss general parenting issues related to children with AD/HD(ADD & ADHD)

Old 01-03-05, 10:57 AM
Jr Member

palooka23 is on a distinguished road
my son....with and without adderall.

I have been researching here for about 8 months now. We have an 8yr old son that since the age of 3, we have suspected that something was just "not right". As years progressed, and after many a frustrating experiences, we finally took him to child psych and he confirmed what we had thought: he has ADD. He was diagnosed with inattentive ADD. After agonizing the decision of meds or not, we opted to try and see if the meds would help him. He takes 15mg of adderall daily. I was paranoid about all the things most people are worried about. But in the end, we wanted to help him reach his full potential and help our suffering relationship.
A bit about my son: He is extremely bright. Very loving, full of life, never aggressive, loves to enjoy every minute of every day. Excellent student, "good" with peers (sometimes a bit overzealous). His main problem is and has always been impulse control. Never anything violent or dangerous, but the ability the control his impulse decisions.