ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Adderall
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adderall (four amphetamine salts)

Old 11-14-12, 12:25 AM

ChiGiKi is on a distinguished road
How to best take Adderall IR before a "major" exam?

Hi all:

Got a major financial certification exam in a bit over a month.
Very difficult and only started adderall 20 IR once in morning
about 2 months ago. Background: Got my masters degree with no Add meds and good grades believe it or not, (although I studied very long and hard).
Only once I started working full time + and studying did I really realize my previously untreated moderate add was now a major problem that needed to be addressed :-/
Anyway, dr offered me sleeping pill zolpidem with adderall and
I said no thanks to slwwping pill. Anyway a week later after having a hard time sleeping (mostly staying asleep) I asked him to prescribe me the the sleeping meds. which Ive taken successfully since and sleeping.

The THING I AM CONFUSED ABOUT HOWEVER IS HOW TO TAKE ADDERALL
IN THE MORNING BEFORE A MAJOR "COMPLEX" EXAM. MY UPCOMING EXAM WILL BE 4 HOURS LONG. Some people say do not eat around time you take adderall IR; others say take a small meal an hour before your dose; still others say take adderall with a bit of food. Frankly I'm CoNfUsEd?!?

I would think the brain would perform best with some protein and adderall at same time?? My normal breakfast before a test (BEFORE I STARTED ADDERALL IR) was a protein shake, 3 egg whites, and a pint of water.

HOW DOES ANYONE HERE RECOMMEND/WHAT IS THE BEST WAY TO TAKE ADDERALL IR BEFORE A MAJOR/COMPLICATED EARLY EXAM?