ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adults with ADD > General ADD Talk
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 02-17-13, 11:00 AM
ADDvanced Contributor

dasikins is just really nicedasikins is just really nicedasikins is just really nicedasikins is just really nice
Why would stimulants cause Depression?

As some know I am new to the world of ADHD. I have also used anti-depressants off and on to aid in Depression.

My current medication, Pristiq, has helped with any Depression symptoms, but like they usually do made me rather apathetic.

Concerta made me sleepy and Vyvanse has really made me more depressed. I didn't take it yesterday and I felt as though I had missed my AD.

Why do stimulants cause the depressive symptoms? Has anyone found any good information on this? I know it doesn't happen to everyone, but I enjoy learning how the brain works!

(RX): Pristiq 50mg, Vyvanse 50 mg, Trazadone (when needed)

"No. Just the butter"
The Following User Says Thank You to dasikins For This Useful Post:
MentalNomad (02-18-13)
Old 02-17-13, 11:17 AM

ackblerg is on a distinguished road
Re: Why would stimulants cause Depression?