ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Adderall
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adderall (four amphetamine salts)

Old 10-14-13, 05:19 AM
ADDvanced Member

hattz19 will become famous soon enough
ADHD is ruining my life...

Long story short, I was prescribed adderall in July after being diagnosed with ADHD. I'm a 21-year old college student, 5'10", ~183, pretty active (run 3-4 times a week. I'm also out of state, from PA but go to school in CA. Was diagnosed back home in PA, I worked my way up from 5 mg IR for two days to 10 mg for two until eventually I got to my first day of 15. It was going AWESOME. I understood and retained what I read, making me feel great since ADHD caused me such academic woes until being diagnosed. I thought I found my cure, until, while reading my business law book.(1.5 hours after the medication kicked in), I experienced the worst panic attack of my life. Chest pressure, dizzy, etc. Stopped until September 23, when fall quarter began. I titrated up from 10mg for two days to 15mg for two days and 20mg for about a week until I saw my doctor and he gave the ok to do 20mg twice a day.

However, a whole host of symptoms began. On the bright side, one of my main academic issues was somewhat solved. I’m a second-year out of state student with a 3.96 GPA, but boy last year was hell. I didn’t learn anything, and reading a page of a book was a nightmare. However, it wasn’t hell like the symptoms I’ve been experiencing. I was never anxious before being prescribed and only had a panic attack once before that in March ’13, when I idiotically drank a Red Bull at midnight after drinking a coffee and taking a 200mg caffeine pre-workout earlier that day.