ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Education
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Education This forum is to discuss issues related to ADD and higher education.

Old 01-14-15, 06:01 AM

dontkno626 is on a distinguished road
Unhappy undiagnosed ADD or something else?

I feel that I ADD may be my reason for not doing well in school. Throughout elementary school I was a good student. I was even eligible to take a test for GATE (Gifted and talented students), which I didn't pass. Anways, 7th grade came around and I started not doing well. Fast forward to highschool and I had straight F's. I didn't talk a lot in class though, was always pretty quite. When I went home I just wouldn't so my homework at all, and my room was always a disaster I'm talking clothes everywhere. I got sent to a continuation school where I did well academically. The class sizes were small, 7 to 10 students, and we had no homework. Classwork was super simple. The dean would always ask why I go to continuation school.
Anyways, now I'm in community college and no matter how much I know I need to do well
I procrastinate on homework, and then end up deciding its not that important. It seems impossible to apply myself no matter how much I tell myself. And I'm scared college will be a repeat of highschool.Am I just lazy and I need to reach down deeper to find motivation? Or am I going undiagnosed?
I know I don't say symptoms but its hard to say from my point of view, all I know is I'm struggling to keep up already and im getting sad.
Is this worth talking to a College counselor with?
I
The Following User Says Thank You to dontkno626 For This Useful Post:
namazu (01-14-15)
Old 01-14-15, 06:59 AM
Yeti-Wrangling Moderator