ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADDForums FRONT OFFICE > New Member Introductions
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 05-12-17, 09:19 PM

KaitlynS is on a distinguished road
Kaitlyn, Florida, USA

Hi everyone. I have been looking around this forum for the past week or two and I decided to start posting and getting more involved.

I am a college student who believes she has ADHD. I am waiting for an appointment later this month with a psychiatrist to talk about this, and I am hoping to start taking some medication if they think I do have this.

My biggest problems are with attention especially while having conversations and reading. During conversations beyond a few sentences I tend to space out and also for some reason sometimes I just can't seem to process what is being said, so I can't think of what to say. Like, I will hear what is said, I know what the words mean, but my mind just can't think of what is being said or asked.

I usually have to have the other person repeat themselves and that doesn't help much. I feel like this has hurt my ability to be close with anyone even family. I usually spend a lot of time by myself and I am not close with anyone, even though I want to be. It tends to be a lot easier though if I am talking with just one other person and there are few/no distractions.

The problem I have with reading is that I constantly read a sentence or paragraph and then I have no idea what I just read. I can read it a dozen times and still have little idea of what I read. I do have an easier time when reading something interesting, but considering I am a college student with boring textbooks I have a lot of troubles at school. I feel like I have to do a lot more than others just to get the same grades.