ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Non-ADD Partner Support
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Non-ADD Partner Support This is a support forum for non-ADD partners, spouses, and significant others offering feedback from both the ADD and non-ADD perspectives

Old 11-18-17, 07:17 PM

Tired Wife is on a distinguished road
Unhappy My spouse won't learn better ways to cope and I'm exhausted

Hi, first post. Thanks for having me. I'm at my wit's end and need some support. My spouse knew from a young age that he had ADHD but his family did not get him good treatment so he has a lot of shame and maladaptive coping mechanisms. I'm a therapist so I am sure it is annoying to him at times to have a partner with that level of understanding. I try not to become a parent or therapist to him but it does still happen. I have done so much reading. By laypeople and experts.

I read how an ADHD person can create their own structure, ADHD ways to avoid being overrun with clutter, foods to eat and avoid, micronutrient treatments, etc. How a spouse can cope. How to not enable. How to ignore people saying you're codependent because some level of that is required for a functional marriage.

But what is my spouse doing. He is taking medication. He is finally in therapy at my request. I haven't always handled his symptoms well. It was important to have a reliable partner for my own anxiety. Guess how well that has worked with ADHD in the mix. But still I have worked so hard to manage my own reactions, work on my communication, try to be encouraging and not controlling but I still am the one making the task list, reminding him to check it.