ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Diagnosis & Treatment
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Diagnosis & Treatment This forum is for the discussion of issues related to the diagnosis of AD/HD

Old 01-20-18, 06:11 AM

Maghh96 is on a distinguished road
Hello there,

I am a first year medical student who has a serious issues concentrating on the material and it's killing me and my grades. My grades are average when I could do so much better. It's just I can't bring myself to study as much. I have serious self discipline issues. I got into medical school not because I was disciplined but because high school here is easy (easy exams and very less assignments) and I did very well on standardized "IQ" tests (Major contributor in getting admitted into med school here). So it's safe to assume I'm not stupid, but I have been feeling that I am lately, and so often. It drives me crazy when I watch educational YouTube videos and get nothing of it because I can't bring myself to concentrate. I have to be really really interested in something so I could start to concentrate, it's hard to get myself that level of interested most of the times. It also annoys me that I can't finish books; I get interested when I wanna read something but only for the for first time I read that book then it's dull.

Also, it has been affecting my social life a bit and can't focus with people sometimes and would ask them often to repeat what they said. I have kinda bad memory and can remember events that took place a lot less compared to my friends.