ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Strattera
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Strattera (Atomoxetine HCI)

Old 08-10-05, 12:49 PM

frances is on a distinguished road
Desperately Need Help: Strattera Alternatives

I was diagnosed w/ ADHD when I was young and I am now 35. It wasnt until I graduated from college and was on my own that I decided to start taking meds. After trying alot of drugs (about 10 or 12, some for a few weeks others for a few years) Last six months, I took Strattera. It was incredible (I know meds have a diff. impact and diff side effects for each individual), I could concentrate, say what I was thinking, I was calm, didnt feel "drugged", all good and just one (major) side effect: sexual. Like others have experienced on this forum, I had "shrinkage" and a total lack of desire & performance. I had to stop taking it.
I am now trying to find out if there is any other drug that is similar to Strattera that I can try? I know it is an NRI (Norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor). I have prev had success and am back on Effexor (a SNRI, Seratonin/Norepinephrine Reuptake Inhibitors). It helps but it is not as good as Strattera. Im seeing two good doctor but am becoming frustrated that I can live and operate my life to the fullest w/ the right drug, but now I can not take it. Please help!
Old 08-10-05, 06:59 PM
ADDvanced Member

Jackinbox is on a distinguished road
The closest thing to strattera is Reboxetine and it's also a NRI. It's available in Europe but not in USA. Effect seems to be similar to Strattera but you may react differently to it. Many web sites sell it but I don't know if it's possible to import it in USA.