ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Adderall
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adderall (four amphetamine salts)

Old 11-14-05, 04:20 AM

Seth1 is on a distinguished road
Adderall has messed up my mind. What do I do?

I am a freshman in college. I attended a prestegious public hs. In grammar school, my grades were good, my test scores were exceptional, and I always felt that I was the smartest one in my class (when it came to english by far.) not the best behaved by any means, but the smartest. I was incredibly creative, exceptionally well read, coherent, creative. I had a rediculous vocabulary and was amazing at english (i read sallinger, orwell, etc and understood them when was in the third and fourth grade). Freshman year of HS, I had a hard time focusing during certain classes (restlessness, the need to walk around and talk to everyone etc etc). My grades slipped a bit, and my well-meaning parents took me to a psych. After a short consultation I was put on adderall and little research was done. I do have some low form of add, but different drugs should have been used or none at all... It was a stupid move on the part of the psychiatrist.

I was put on 30mg (6x5mg) a day and from that point on I have been taking them fairly regulary. At first it was great, I could concentrate and all that. I stopped fidgeting. I lost some weight and started working out (i was overweight and small, I had low self esteem). And I never raised the dosage, it always seemed to have a fairly strong effect on me. I usually only took 10-20mgs a day when I felt I needed it.