ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Education
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Education This forum is to discuss issues related to ADD and higher education.

Old 12-08-05, 12:18 PM
Jr Member

reh3 is on a distinguished road
Helpful tips for College Folk with ADHD

Hey Everyone,

I'm 28, and went through a good bulk of my life without ever being diagnosed as ADHD. I was diagnosed about 7 months ago, (highly ADHD, inattentive, impulsive, the works) and since then everything about my life, and my fathers kinda makes sense. Below are some of my experiences through undergrad, and grad school, and some of my experiences may help anyone in college with ADHD. As an undergrad, I finished with a 2.49 GPA, and changed my major 20 some odd times. After a three year tour in the business world, I went back to grad school and finished with a 3.875. Now I work as a university administrator, and get to give advice to students on a daily basis. There is hope!

College is an extremely difficult time for anyone, but has its own interesting nuances for folks with ADHD. Moving from a class structure mostly dictated to someone, to an environment completely self directed, many students may get lost in the new found cornicopia of new and exciting experiences. I found myself impulisvely signing up for classes based solely on how interesting I foudn them. I changed my major from Psychology, to Fine Arts, to Theater, to Biology, Neuroscience, Philosophy, oh, and cant forget Theology. I was also involved in numerous campus activities, and by the time I graduated, I had a resume on par with most people who had been in the working force for 2 years. So on to some practical wisdom I've collected over the years.