ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > PARENTS OF CHILDREN WITH ADD/ADHD > General Parenting Issues
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

General Parenting Issues The purpose of this forum is to discuss general parenting issues related to children with AD/HD(ADD & ADHD)

Old 03-16-06, 12:42 PM

maribram is on a distinguished road
Concerned mother of 9yr old son with ADHD

Hi, I'm new to this and I need help my son was diagnosed with ADHD a year ago he is now 9yrs old and in 3rd grade. I did not want my son in medication..I wanted to try other help before considering medication. I had him in therapy for a few months, but since I started working full time I dont have time to take him any more. Now that he is in 3rd grade he has more homework and I struggle with him to get it done. At school his teacher tells me that he really tries to focus but see's how much he struggles. He just took his Task test and failed. I was told that he will have two more chances to take the test but if he does not pass the test...he will stay in the same grade...since I found out about the test I made an appointment with his doctor to start him on medication. But i'm worried that if still does not pass the test after i start him on medication he will still fail the test...and if they keep him his self esteem will decrease and other kids are going to make fun of him..i'm afraid for my son...I dont know what to do..please give me some advice...I fall asleep crying and wake up every day worried about how his day will be.
Old 03-17-06, 02:43 AM
Contributor

ladym has disabled reputation