ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Adderall
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adderall (four amphetamine salts)

Old 07-01-06, 01:11 PM
ADDvanced Member

moo4dougie is on a distinguished road
Trouble Swallowing/Crying 10 hrs after Adderall XR

I just started Adderall XR at 15mg. Just one in the morning. I'm a stimulant virgin, so the doctor felt this was an appropriate starting dose.

I was fantastically focused throughout my classes today. (I am a teacher taking some professional development classes this summer.) No jitters. No hyperactivity. Just calm and able to remain focused.

I noticed as 5:00pm approached that I was starting to feel a bit odd. Sort of like coming off a caffeine binge. I arrived at home around 6:00 (this is 10hrs after my dose in the morning), and I all of a sudden had difficulty swollowing. I became anxious. The difficulty continued. And, I started crying for a brief moment.

The feeling stopped after about 10 minutes of the mess. I have never experienced anything like this before. Obviously, this may be a side effect of the medication, especially since it was my first day taking it. But, I also know this sounds a bit like an anxiety attack -- something I have no experience with.

1) Have you experienced an effect like this before?
2) Is this something I should immediately report to the doctor? Or, should I wait until next month's appointment, assuming that this effects may wear off over time?
3) Is there something I could do in the afternoon to prevent this from happening?

BTW, I slept through the entire night. I'm glad I didn't experience insomnia! Woo-hoo!

Thanks for your help
Old 07-01-06, 01:21 PM
Contributor

SnappyCloud has disabled reputation
Dear virgin,