ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > CO-EXISTING CONDITIONS > Sensory
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 07-10-06, 03:32 PM
ADDvanced Member

Effie will become famous soon enough
High Startle Reflex Anyone?

Hello everyone, newbie here. While reading the article AD/HD and Hypersensitivities: The Princess and the Pea Syndrome, the author says that before she was diagnosed with ADD she thought she was the only one who had an exaggerated startle response to the slightest noise, her example "a sneeze from the back of a restaurant could cause me to jump a foot straight up from my chair." I read that and thought "that is me!" I was wondering if anyone else has this problem, I tried to find more information on the internet but was unsuccessful. It is soo embarrassing and I would love to know if anyone else has this problem and what they do to control it, if they do anything at all.
Old 07-10-06, 04:05 PM

Thanked 5,846 Times in 4,235 Posts
SB_UK has disabled reputation
Hi -this may help --- ADDers and sensitivity to sound --- Andrew points at the existence of other threads ... answer - 'yes' ... by the way ... one of the first things I wanted to know too ... relating to ADD ... when I first found out about the condition ... myself, personally ... I have been hypersensitized, hyoersensitive to any form of loud bang --- firework, balloon bursting ... been like this since three years old ... terrible apprehension when it comes to sudden loud noises ... and the noise itself makes my head explode --- true pain ... feels like the mind cramping ... !

SB.

IGNORE LIST BEING USED - 8 ENTRIES
T - 1 before communication becomes futile.
Old 07-10-06, 04:51 PM

lovemytiel is on a distinguished road
I have the same problem...it is kind of embarassing actually.