ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > General Medication Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

General Medication Discussion This section is to be used for general medication discussion and other medications not broken out in their own respective forums.

Old 09-14-08, 07:33 PM

SunnyHours is on a distinguished road
Question Meds that doesn't ruin your creativity...?

Hi everyone,

I subscribed to these boards yesterday. I'm trying to find a medication to help me at school. I am studying in Web Design and I love it!

Problem is that if I take my Ritalin I noticed my creativity going down...not too good for a designer. But I am about to get kicked out of school because I am always late or don't go at all. It's my last chance!

I am doing all I can right now and I have ZERO motivation to wake in the morning or do my work at night. When I was taking the ritalin it helped tremendously with those problems but it deleted my creativity.

Now to go to school I drink 2-3 Monster energy drink to be able to concentrate and I don't have loads of money so it's becoming an issue.

My question is: has anyone found a medication (preferably a stimulant) that would not decrease creativity ?
I have only tried Ritalin so far...I'm just wondering what would help me more Adderall or Dexedrine?

I have an appointment tomorrow afternoon and I will talk to my doctor (she's pretty strict) and will at least try to get back on the Ritalin or try something else.

Thanks for the input!
Fred.
Old 09-14-08, 10:03 PM
ADDvanced Forum ADDvocate

Thanked 3,784 Times in 1,933 Posts