ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adults with ADD > General ADD Talk
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Old 02-17-09, 07:14 PM
Jr Member

lackoffocus03 is on a distinguished road
Just got Diagnosed at age 24

I have been browsing these forums for a few months, ever since I suspected that I may had Add. I just now registered! I was diagnosed by my GP and have already been diagnosed for depression. My appointment today was to switch anti deprresants because effexor wasn't working for me. I brought up that I thought a lot of my depression I believe stems from living with undiagnosed Add my whole life. He started to dismiss it and said Add does not cause depression. I then told him that I have lost countless jobs from lack of being able to focus and follow directions, and not having a job has contributed to a lot of my depression. I gave him some more examples of how I thought my add was contributing to my depression. He then agreed that I probably had add and said he would like to treat me for one at a time. He decided to treat me for the add first. He put me on adderall Ir 20mg. It is nice to finally have a formal diagnosis and didn't realize how easy it would be. It took less than 20 minutes and I now have the meds that I need. I would like to thank people on these forums for giving me tips on things to do when I went in to the dr. to get diagnosed. I made a list of all of my symptoms and that really seemed to help. Thanks again everyone for the help!
Old 02-17-09, 07:22 PM
ADDvanced Member

hannielaggie will become famous soon enough
Re: Just got Diagnosed at age 24