ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Ritalin
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Ritalin (methylphenidate)

Old 02-22-09, 01:52 PM
Jr Member

nadri is on a distinguished road
34 year old with ADHD newly diagnosed with headache on ritalin

I am a newbie to the board. I am a 34 year old man recently diagnosed with ADHD. I have been successful in my education and career. However, in my current job no matter how good I am at doing my work I am dogged with comments about inattentiveness at meetings, lack of engagement with clients. These personal skills have seen me reviewed badly at my performance appraisal as I do not conform to the social norms.

I have had coaching paid by my work and the coach usually tells me to focus on the other person and realise that as another person I need to give them adequate attention in the same way that I would want. This has helped but I still have a lot of slip ups. Also the coach wanted to understand what the underlying cause was of my poor social skills.

Having recently visited from the US from the UK, I had a look into the symptoms of Adult ADHD. They seemed a mirror of my traits and I have been diagnosed last week by a psychiatrist in London as having adult adhd.

He has prescribed a 10 day trial of ritalin as follows: Starting on day 1 I take10mg of ritalin and then I add 10g of ritalin up to 100mg a day. When I get to the point where I am agitated by the ritalin, I take one less dose as my main dose. So if I am agitated at 50mg, I take 40mg a day.