ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > ADULTS AND ADD/ADHD > Adult Education
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adult Education This forum is to discuss issues related to ADD and higher education.

Old 04-14-09, 01:09 PM

ADDSOUL is on a distinguished road
College Alternatives For ADD Inattentive Teens?

Hello everyone, this is my first post here and I just want to say the forum is very informative

Okay, so I am a college freshman, 19. I was diagnosed with ADHD inattentive type in August '08, as I started college, after suspecting for some years that I have ADD. As some would said here; I have hit a wall academically. I have always been perceived by my peers and adults alike, that I more intelligent than the average person. That perception would correct. It is when I have to make a deadline, do a piece by school projects, and parts of Algebra where that perception begins to become questionable.

I coasted through high school, depressed. From what I have read about inattentive types high school is where we fall apart; shockingly, I did to. It didn't help that my parents put me in a far more academically challenging school district. In middle school and elementary school I was at the top or near the top of my class. I was in actually in honors classes before my district switch. I went from honors to either near failing or failing grades in the same subjects I use to excel in; some high grade few and far between those 70s. I wasn't exactly a social butterfly. Although I found social groups that I was interested in; outside of school. Social awkwardness is a problem for me. I actually managed to graduate early. A real triumph considering out the 16 reports cards I received in high school only three of those had a GPA above 3.0.