ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Dexedrine/Dextrostat
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Dexedrine/Dextrostat (dextroamphetamine)

Old 04-06-10, 10:46 PM

tinkerbell84 is on a distinguished road
Barr generic Dex not working- how to continue treatment

Sorry this is long . I just feel like I should share all info. You can probably skip to my list if 3 questions if you can't read through all this.
OK, so I am unsure how to continue from here. I have inattentive type, was diagnosed as an adult a few months ago (age 25) because as a grad student I can no longer get away with it. My primary symptoms are extreme procrastination with school work, taking forever to read for school due to lack of focus (it takes me all day to read a 5-page article and I have to read at least 100 pages a week), messiness, no motivation and fatigue. Overall I feel like I have lost intelligence (my symptoms have worsened for the past 4 yrs).
Sleeping well, drinking coffee and getting exercise seem to help a little.

Over the past three months I have tried brand name and generic Ritalin (couldn't tell the difference between the two), generic (Barr) Adderall and generic (Barr) Dexedrine (all instant release). All were started at a very low dose and slowly titrated up. Ritalin made me feel a little energized but weird and jittery. Adderall made me feel nicely energized at 10mg, but did nothing for my other symptoms. At 15mg, I started feeling like I had too much coffee (i.e. jittery).