ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Adderall
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adderall (four amphetamine salts)

Old 07-28-10, 08:54 PM
Jr Member

anephew is on a distinguished road
Just started adderall a week ago. Feeling stressed, serious, and irritable at times?

Hi all,

I've been taking 20mg of adderall IR (generic Barr for the curious) once a day for about a week now. I previously used strattera before but i couldn't handle the side effects. So far adderall is working great for me. My thoughts are more organized, i can stay focused, I am no longer procrastinating as much, and I am a much better listener. Only thing is, after I take it, my heart beats faster and I feel more stressed out than usual. Which is odd because i'm never stressed! I've become more serious too, and if someone distracts me from my mission I get angry. Sometimes I'll also get a tad upset over things, which doesn't normally happen to me. The meds only work for about 3 hours, and the crash is tolerable when i drink enough water and eat a snack. During come down periods, my body feels mildly heavy and distant-- feels as if i'm kind of "stoned" and a foot away from my body.

So are these side effects normal and how soon can i expect them to go away? I recently left a voicemail to my doc asking for XR instead of IR, do you think these symptoms will get better on the XR? I really like adderall spare these side effects, so I hope I don't have to switch to a different med...
Old 07-28-10, 10:18 PM
Contributor

fropunka is a jewel in the roughfropunka is a jewel in the roughfropunka is a jewel in the rough
Re: Just started adderall a week ago. Feeling stressed, serious, and irritable at tim