ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Adderall
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adderall (four amphetamine salts)

Old 01-25-11, 02:51 PM

Pocahontas is on a distinguished road
Making Adderall More Effective

Can someone please direct me to a post that will tell me which vitamins and supplements that will help increase the effectiveness of the Adderall?

I specifically need something that will increase my cognitive ability as I am studying for the bar exam.

Should I take L-tyrosine? B vitamins, if so, which ones? L-Theanine? Methylcobalamin?

I'm already taking fish oil, zinc, and magnesium, but don't know if I should take these at night as I take Adderall XR 5 mg every morning.
Old 01-26-11, 09:57 AM

kassem23 is on a distinguished road
Re: Making Adderall More Effective

You shouldn't supplement with anything, to increase its effectiveness. If it not effective, try a bigger dosage, 5 mg Adderall, XR, is insanely little.

I think you'll do a lot better on either 20 mg XR, or 2 x 10 mg IR.

Ask your doctor if it is not working for you.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to kassem23 For This Useful Post:
hopehope (02-01-11), Jester (01-26-11), phEight (01-26-11)
Old 01-26-11, 10:05 AM
Forum Guru

ArtGypsy is just really niceArtGypsy is just really niceArtGypsy is just really niceArtGypsy is just really nice

Coffee?

I wouldn't add any of the amino acid supplements - especially L-Tyrosine if you are taking Adderall (or any psychotropic drug).

5mg is a low dose. I would talk to your DR about increasing it. 10mg would probably be much better.
The Following User Says Thank You to ArtGypsy For This Useful Post:
Jester (01-26-11)
Sponsored Links
Old 01-26-11, 11:58 AM
ADDvanced Forum ADDvocate