ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Ritalin
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Ritalin (methylphenidate)

Old 03-04-11, 03:57 PM
Jr Member

batuhanb85 is on a distinguished road
Ritalin does not work without smoking tobacco (need knowledge and help)

I'm on ritalin currently 10mg x 2 (morning and afternoon),

Before taking ritalin, I have been smoking for 7 years. But smoking was only a social issue for me, only in daytime, after the meals or during coffee breaks with friends.

Actually, I never desired when I was at home or lonely, because it was making me down and depressed. ADHD (primarily inattentive) symptoms were always with me and smoking hasn't made improvement about my ADHD ever.

When I first used Ritalin, it worked like a charm. Then, I planned a healthy and regular life for me and wanted to quit smoking. I never smoked for 4 months , but during this period Ritalin effect diminished day by day.

I thought that some kind of norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor (Wellbutrin) may be helpful, as it is also used as cessation aid for smoking, but it didn't work. I also tried modiodal, selegiline, vitamin B complex, L-Tyrosine, fish oil, ginseng, gotu kola in different combinations, but nothing helped. Then I started smoking unwillingly after for months only for improving my focus, concentration and motivation.

Briefly, Ritalin and smoking tobacco only helps my ADHD when used together.

Does anyone have an idea about the mechanism that may them work together? I'm searching for another solution, because I don't want to smoke for the rest of my life.Any suggestion and help will be appreciated.