ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community  

Go Back   ADD Forums - Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Support and Information Resources Community > TREATMENT & MANAGEMENT > Medications > Adderall
Register Blogs FAQ Chat Members List Calendar Donate Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read

Adderall (four amphetamine salts)

Old 03-28-11, 07:43 PM

Herhant257 is on a distinguished road
Adjusting adderall dosage, should I ask the doctor?

I am currently prescribed 20mg Adderall (Generic) standard tablet, 2 X a day.

I have been stabilized for awhile now, and don't really have any side effects beyond dry mouth if I haven't been drinking water.

My issue is, I am a student who, unfortantly is studying non stop.

It's kind of like that thing where, the studying never ends... you just do it till you need to sleep and hope it was enough.

I am honestly at "it" all day long.

From the moment I wake up and take a shower and leave for class within 30 minutes, till the hour before I go to bed. I usually only get 4-6 hours of sleep, unless my body "pushes" for more. I try to get 8 on the weekends though.

Since I am at "it" for 14+ hours a day, the 3-4 hour window in each dose of 20mg kind of leaves me with times of 'problems' and times of 'feeling good'.

My doctor (psychiatrist) told me straight up without me even asking about it, that I can adjust how I take the medication, just to make sure I do not take more than 60mg a day, and try to keep an average of about 40mg/day 5 out of 7 days (so I have "vacations"). (ie, he told me on test days it's fine to take 30mg twice over a 6 hour window to "study" before the test, and be up for the test there after).

He told me to just take half a tab so I end up taking 50mg that day, when the second dose starts to wear off for a "boost".

What I am considering asking him is if it is acceptable to switch from 2 X 20mg to 4 X 10mg / day.